Storytime – Opposites

Sorry it’s been a while since I’ve posted!

What's Up Duck?Please see below for some suggested books, songs and rhymes for an Opposite themed storytime. There were so many books about big/small I decided it warranted its own Storytime Theme – so stay tuned! For the craft activity I created a printable Opposites Book that includes a few pasting activities and a list of opposites – feel free to use this!

Books

  • ‘Big’ by Edward Gibbs
  • ‘In front of or behind – Where’s Eddie?’ by Daniel Nunn
  • ‘Science Kids: Opposites’ by Aaron Carr
  • ‘Big bug, little bug’ by Paul Stickland
  • ‘This is not my hat’ by Jon Klassen
  • ‘Around the house the fox chased the mouse’ by Rick Walton
  • ‘Animal Opposites’ by Petr Horacek

Songs and Rhymes

We’re going up
We’re going up,
We’re going up,
We’re going way up high.
We’re going down,
We’re going down,
We’re going way down low.
Up, up, up, up, up!
Down, down, down, down, down!

I can run as fast as you
I can run as fast as you,
I can run as fast as you,
I can run as fast as you,
Running on the spot.

Other verses:
I can walk as slow as you.
I can jump as high as you.
I can crouch as low as you.

Little Duck
I saw a little duck go hop, hop, hop
(hop three times)
I told the little duck to stop, stop, stop
(hold up hand for stop)
I went to the window to say, ‘How do you do?’
(handshake)
He wagged his little tail and away he flew!
(shake tail and fly away)

Little Turtle
There was a little turtle
He lived in a box
He swam in a puddle
He climbed on the rocks
He snapped at a mosquito
He snapped at a flea
He snapped at a minnow
And he snapped at me

He caught the mosquito
He caught the flea
He caught the minnow
But he didn’t catch me!

Grand Old Duke of York
Oh, the grand old duke of york,
He had ten thousand men:
He marched them up to the top of a hill,
And he marched them down again.
And when they were up, they were up,
And when they were down, they were down
And when they were only half way up
They were neither up nor down.

Other Songs:
Open Shut Them
I’m a little teapot
Incy Wincy Spider

 

Craft Idea

– this was based upon a book found here.

Leave a Reply

