Book Week with Ripper Readers

Book Week 2012 was Saturday 18 – Friday 24 August, the theme being Champions Read. Quite appropriate in a very sports dominated culture we have in Australia!

I usually make my way through the shortlisted books and place reservations on the titles so that I can show them to my Ripper Readers. I think it’s a great way to introduce the kids (and myself!) to new authors and illustrators.

My Ripper Readers discussed the winners of the ‘Book of the Year‘ award then had a blast making this dragon collage. The dragon was inspired by the cover image on Emily Rodda’s book, The Golden Door, (which was nominated for the award) and this fantastic papercraft. Feel free to use the template below.

Leave a Reply

